It may be a very stressful and traumatic experience when you are in a vehicle accident. Your automobile may be damaged as a result of the collision. Car accident insurance premiums are the last thing on your mind. However, your insurance premiums may not always rise due to a vehicle accident.

According to the Benenati Law Firm, if you were “significantly at fault” in an accident, your auto insurance premiums should not rise. The term “significantly at fault” is more a mistake than not, often defined as being at least 51% to blame again for the accident.

No-Fault Reimbursement

There are no-fault insurance statutes in place in 12 states, including Florida. Put another way, and you must notify your insurance company immediately after an incident, regardless of who was to blame. On the other hand, your insurance company will consider the specifics of the accident to decide whether or not it has any impact on your premiums. Even if you submit a claim, your premiums should not be impacted if you are not at fault for the accident or are significantly not at fault for the accident.

Factors Affecting Increases In The Rate

The severity of your accident has a significant impact on how much your insurance premiums rise. The first thing to consider is whether or not you share primary responsibility for the incident. Additional criteria include how many incidents you have had, your public driving record, and previous insurance claims.

Expect your insurance premiums to go up after a string of incidents that result in property damage or personal harm. If you’ve been in an accident that was mostly your fault, you may anticipate your insurance premiums to rise by around 30 percent. However, your premiums may increase by 12 percent to 80 percent, based on the event’s intensity.

It is expected that your insurance premiums would rise if the accident results in another person’s injuries or perhaps death. Although this may be your first accident, your insurance premiums may be impacted if another person is injured, resulting in a personal injury claim.

If the collision involves a traffic offence, insurance rates will rise for first-time offenders. Every form of traffic infraction, including speeding, running red lights, and failing to yield to oncoming vehicles, is classified as a moving violation. It’s also worth noting that if a crime, such as driving, caused the accident while under the influence, the insurance premiums are likely to rise significantly.

Car insurance firms see reckless and illegal driving as investment risk and will raise the insurance prices of those who engage in it. The lesser your bet, the cheaper your premium will be as a driver.

“Accident forgiveness” may be available if you have a clean driving record and this was your first accident. However, “accident forgiveness coverage” promises that motor insurance will not increase your premiums because of an at-fault accident claim. Depending on the company, it can come as a free reward for long-term clients with good driving histories, or you might have to pay extra. Either way, you’ll need to have a spotless driving record for three to five years.


An attorney may assist if you or a loved one has been wounded or killed in a car accident. Injured people and accident victims have received millions of dollars in compensation from the Law Firm. Law Firm personal injury offices may be reached by dialling 7s for those harmed in accidents or due to carelessness in Central Florida. Your situation deserves particular attention; therefore, allow them to offer it to you. If they don’t win your case, you owe them nothing. Please don’t hesitate to contact them right away for a no-obligation consultation about your legal options.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button