How Long Do You Have After a Car Accident to File a Lawsuit In Alabama?
An expert auto accidents lawyer should be consulted as soon as possible if you need to file a case against a negligent driver after being injured in a vehicle accident. You only have two years in Alabama to file your claim. The “statute of limitations” refers to this. You may not be able to get any compensation for your medical costs, lost wages, and other losses if you make your claim after this deadline has passed.
What is the Alabama Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury Claims in Car Accidents?
The two-year window for initiating a lawsuit following an automobile accident typically opens on the day the injury occurs or the day the accident happens. It may, however, also begin to run on a separate day.
Are There Any Exclusions to the Statute of Limitations for Car Accident Claims?
A person may launch a lawsuit for an automobile accident more than two years after the collision, thanks to the discovery rule and a few additional circumstances. These exclusions consist of the following:
- Wrongful death – You may be qualified to bring a wrongful death claim against the careless driver who caused the collision as the “personal representative” of the estate of a loved one who perished in an automobile accident.
- Kid victim – In certain accidents, a juvenile or a child under 18 is the casualty. A juvenile in Alabama is not legally able to bring a lawsuit. Therefore, the kid’s claim’s 2-year statute of limitations would not begin to run until the youngster becomes 18.
- Mental incapacity – If you are mentally incapable of bringing a lawsuit following a vehicle accident, the 2-year statute of limitations will not begin to run until you are found capable of doing so.
- Automotive defect – The statute of limitations for product liability lawsuits will apply if your accident resulted from a faulty vehicle or auto part, such as when your brakes failed or your car unexpectedly accelerated. Most of the time, you have one year from the date of the injury or death brought on by the defect to submit your complaint.
How long do you file a lawsuit after being injured in a car accident?
After a vehicle accident, you want to seek medical attention right away. Your health and capacity to make a car accident claim are protected when you visit the doctor. Unfortunately, your condition can get worse as a result of your therapy. Medical malpractice is defined as when a medical professional commits a mistake and fails to give care and treatment that is up to par.
Doctors and other healthcare professionals may be held accountable for any harm brought on by their carelessness.